minimalism: wardrobe

minimalism: wardrobe clear out

As you may or may not know, I am going travelling in two weeks. This means that I am trying to get rid of everything and only keep what I intend to travel with. This was a really hard task but to kick it off I started in my wardrobe. Stupidly, I forgot to take a before picture but imagine the wardrobe full of clothes on every hanger and shelf. My boyfriend and I shared this wardrobe- he only used one shelf, if that helps you imagine how many clothes I had.

minimalism: wardrobe

Now I have a very basic wardrobe:

  • 3 shorts
  • 2 skirts
  • 6 tops (2 smart)
  • 2 long sleeved (1 smart)
  • 2 band t-shirts (for pjs/lounge wear)
  • 2 leggings (1 as ‘thermals’)
  • 1 smart trouser (for formal work)
  • 1 trackie bottom (pj)
  • 1 hoodie/jumper
  • 1 shirt/throw over
  • 1 dress (both casual and smart)
  • 1 bikini
  • 1 scarf/1 banada/1 beenie
  • 7 pairs of underwear
  • 4 pairs of sock (1 fluffy for cold weather)

minimalism: wardrobe

I have heard of capsule wardrobe and although I am sure there are rules of what clothes to have in a capsule wardrobe I feel like this comes close. I have roughly a weeks worth of clothing and allow for most types of weather and occasions. It all packs down into these two cubes, one has my underwear/bikini in and the larger one fits all my clothes.

minimalism: wardrobe

When it came to getting rid of clothes, here are a few things I kept in mind:

  • I found the best way to get rid of clothes was to decide if I would really wear it if I kept it. I have loads of nice fancy dresses that I love but know I only use on special occasions so I got rid of them all.
  • When it comes to underwear most people can over pack, but I pack a weeks worth and plan to do washing once a week therefore there is no need for anymore.
  • If you are going travelling, having clothes that can be easily layered is a good tip. It means that there are no bulky items but the tops can worn on top of one another.
  • It is also worth making sure you can put together outfits with the clothes you have left. If you aren’t fussed about what your clothes look like when pieced together, then perfect! But if you are, keep most of your clothes plain and without pattern. Or, what I did was have most of my bottoms patterned and t-shirts plain so that you can always piece clothes together without worrying about clashing.
  • Having clothes that can be dressed up and down is another good way to cut down your wardrobe. I only have one dress, however, it can easily be worn to the beach or to a family dinner depending on what shoes I put on.

When it comes to de-cluttering your wardrobe you want to be be ruthless and really think about what items you need and what is necessary or not. I managed to get rid of all ‘sentimental’ clothing, including a lot of band tshirts that I collected but rarely wore. But once you have done it and you are left with all the clothes you need, you feel such a sense of achievement and means that you end up wearing clothes that you actually like. 

Thank you for reading this post and I hope it was helpful, why not check out my previous minimalism post: from owning everything to nothing?

One thought on “minimalism: wardrobe clear out

Leave a Reply

