hot air balloon ride

hot air balloon ride

For my 21st birthday my dad got me a hot air balloon ride, this was in January. I eventually managed to take the ride on Wednesday. Every time I booked the ride, it got cancelled because it relied on the weather so much. Wednesday was my last chance to take the ride before I leave the country next week and luckily the weather was perfect enough for a hot air balloon ride.

Once we arrived at the take off site we had to help pull the balloon out so that they could fill it with air from fans. They would then turn the burners on and heat up the cold air inside the balloon. The balloon was huge when laid out on the ground, I had no idea it would be so big!

hot air balloon ride

Taking off was a lot easier than I thought it would be, before I knew it we were up in the sky. It was insane how smooth it was. When we were up that was pretty much that. The view was incredible and it was crazy to think how high up you were in just a basket.

hot air balloon ride

hot air balloon ride

hot air balloon ride

The only strange, or hard part of the ride was landing. As we came into land he told us that because the wind had picked up the basket would tip. The basket was split into four sections, each had four people in where you would sit and there were handles that you had to hold onto.

hot air balloon ride

hot air balloon ride

The above photos are the position we landed in. It was the strangest feeling, kind of like being on a roller coaster. The man in charge definitely made me feel safe and I wasn’t too worried. The photo above shows where the balloon landed (the straw in the bottom right is flattened) and then how far it dragged and bounced across the ground.

hot air balloon ride

This was such an amazing experience, to be so high up in just a basket! I would highly recommend doing this if you ever get the opportunity. I was definitely expecting it to be a lot more scarier but it was such an easy and enjoyable.

Thank you for reading this blog post, a week today I will have arrived in Spain and begin my life as a backpacker, which  I could not be more excited for. Why not check out my last blog post; how to clear our your wardrobe and keep an eye out for my next blog post tomorrow! 

2 thoughts on “hot air balloon ride

Leave a Reply

