homemade almond milk

homemade almond milk

I’m currently living on an off grid farm close to the town Maella, in Spain. Here they have their own fig, almond and olive trees. Coming from England where almonds are very expensive its amazing to be able to collect and eat them whenever you want. We are staying here through the website workaway.info which means we work for some people and they provide us with food and accommodation, rather than money. I will write a blog post about my experience here, but once I have stayed here for longer- so keep your eyes open for that!

homemade almond milk

It is amazing have all this food growing around you and being able to pick it. There was a huge number of almonds so we decided to try and make some almond milk. If you happen to live on an almond farm (lucky you) or don’t mind buying almonds I would highly recommend making your own. I find it tastes so much better than the store bought one and the recipe is so simple. When you first blend the almonds you could also make a milkshake because it becomes quite frothy. You can add any ingredients to this recipe such as: banana, oreos, agave syrup, dates, etc to make a super tasty milkshake.

homemade almond milk

Ingredients
1 cup almonds
3 cups of water
vanilla essence
salt

  1. Soak the almonds in one cup of water and add a pinch of salt. Apparently the salt helps the almonds break down enzymes but either way it brings out the almond taste. Leave to soak overnight, approximately 8-10 hours.
  2. Pour the almonds into a blender, add the rest of the water and blend until they cannot seem to get any smaller.
  3. Then strain the mixture to catch all the almond pieces, you can do this with a proper cheese cloth thing. However, we did this with a sieve that worked very well and we did sieve it twice. Doing this you are left with a lot of tiny bits of almond in the sieve that are definitely worth keeping for other recipes.
  4. Here you can add the vanilla essence, I added enough to taste so add however much you prefer.

homemade almond milk

This made about enough for two-three days and I wouldn’t like to keep it for much longer. It is something you could soak overnight and then make in the morning, I think that would be my preference.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and if you have made your own almond milk before let me know how you did it! Whilst I have almonds surrounding me I will definitely be making my own as it just tastes so good. My next blog post will be up tomorrow and will show how I use the waste/ desiccated almond. In the meantime why not check out my last post about the beginning of my travelling, in Tarragona. 

Leave a Reply

