almond cheese recipe

You might notice a pattern here with this being my third blog post on how to use almonds. If you have been keeping up with these posts you will know that I am currently travelling and have been working for people who provide me with food and accommodation. We have spent the past two weeks harvesting almonds which now means our hosts have a lot of almonds that need eating so we have been trying to get creative.

We’ve done almond milk, almond cake, chocolate coated almonds and then our neighbor suggested almond cheese. I followed this recipe as a base for the cheese and then added my own few bits. I was so surprised at how nice and ‘cheesy’ this actually tasted.

Ingredients
1 1/4 cup of almonds, soaked overnight with the skin peeled off. (This is surprisingly easy to do once the almonds have been soaked).
2 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp oil
1/2 clove of garlic
rosemary
salt
2/3 cup water

almond cheese recipe

  1. Put all the ingredients into a blender and blend on high until the mixture is as smooth as possible. It will never be completely smooth but blend until you get bored is my rule of thumb.
  2. After place the mixture into a cheesecloth or any other material that will suffice, I used a bandanna and it worked perfectly. Tie the material around the cheese and place in a sieve, over a bowl and leave overnight in the fridge.
  3. The next day place the mixture onto a greased baking tray and bake on a low heat. The longer you bake it for the more crumbly it gets so if you want a creamy cheese bake for around 10-15 minutes.I also sprinkled some almond crumbs on top of my cheese to give it a bit more of a texture.

almond cheese recipe

There you have it, almond cheese. This mixture tasted really nice and I definitely want to experiment around with different flavours. A cream cheese with chive is something I cannot wait to try.

I hope you enjoyed these past few almond related blog posts. My blogging dates will change to be just Sunday and Wednesday from now on as it is hard to fit blogging and living in sometimes. My next blog post will be something completely unrelated to almonds! 

One thought on “almond cheese recipe

Leave a Reply

