shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

shit you didn’t know was vegan (spanish edition)

Hello, and welcome to a different version of shit you didn’t know was vegan. Normally, I just post one product that I found however, today  I am going to throw a bunch of products at you that I found whilst in Spain that are all accidentally vegan and taste like heaven!

As all these products are Spanish (obviously) and I have tried my best to translate the product name. I also want to disclaim, my knowledge on E numbers and fancy names for animals products is very small, so if it turns out any of these products are not vegan please let me know in the comments!

Patatas Fritas sabour Allioli (Allioli Flavoured Potato Crisps)

The flavouring of these crisps is ‘Allioli’ which is a brand of spread that I’ve been told is like garlic mayo.. which means I can’t eat it. So, as soon as I saw these crisps I grabbed them so that I could try that Allioi taste. These are super garlicky and do have a strong, salty taste. Not something I could eat a lot of but still taste good.

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: potato, sunflower oil, allioi flavour (flavourings, flavour enhancer E-621, maltrodextrin, acidulants (E-330 and E262) and modified starch) and salt.

Canas Rellenas de Creama (Rods Stuffed with Cream)

These are also called Travesserios which translates as crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Now these are chocolate puff pastry with vanilla cream on the inside and they are the tastiest thing ever. I can never eat just one of these as they are so delicious I cannot get enough of them.

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: vanilla-flavoured cream (glucose-fructose syrup, water, sugar, modified corn starch, acids (citric acid and lactic acid), colours (calcium carbonate and carotenese, humectant, stabilizers (cellulose, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose and xanthan gum), flavouring, preservative (potassium sorbate) and salt). special coating containing vegetable fat, (sugar, vegetable fats (palm, palm kernel) in variable amounts, non fat cocoa solids, emulsifiers (lecithins and flavourings), wheat flour, vegetable palm fat, sugar, vegetable oils (sunflower oil, soya) in variable amounts, salt, flavourings and colour (carotenes).

Side note: writing out all those ingredients has highly put me off eating one of those ever again. Damn that processed food.

Gullon Chip Choco (Chocolate chip cookies)

After the shambles of the above ingredients these make me feel a little bit better. I think they are marketed more as a health food as they are ‘sin azucares’ (without sugar) but they taste amazing. These are your standard chocolate chip, however, they have a coconut background flavour. I am not a fan of coconut at all but these biscuits were delicious. I would highly recommend for a semi guilt free snack.

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: wheat flour, chocolate drops without sugar (cocoa paste, sweetener:maltitol, cocoa butter, emulsifier: soya lecithin, vanilla flavour), vegetable oil (high oleic sunflower oil) 16,5%, sweeteners (maltitol and isomalt), raising agents: ammonium and sodium bicarbonates, salt, vanilla, coconut and butter flavours.

Cocteleo (Cocktail) (Mixed peanuts, broad beans, bbq flavoured corn and toasted chickpeas.

These are a super tasty savoury snack and 100x better than just eating peanuts. There are so many different snack foods in the mixture that it is hard to explain what they taste like but trust me, they taste good.

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: peanuts, fried barbecue flavoured corn and snack products (corn palm vegetable fat, salt, flavourings, corn maltodextrin, flavour enhances (E-621, E-635), smoke flavouring and acid (E-330)), broad beans, palm vegetable fat, chickpeas, giant corn, salt and sunflower oil.

Top Corn: palomitas de colores. (Coloured popcorn)

I bought this popcorn purely because of the colours, it looks like it should taste amazing. I can vouch for it because it tastes so good. Its sugary and sweet and perfect for a movie night!

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: corn for popcorn, sugar, vegetable palm fat, sunflower oil and colourings (E-102, E-129, E-131).

Digestive avena choco (Chocolate digestive biscuit)

This is from the same brand as the chocolate chip cookie and again, I think it is marketed as a healthy food but they taste good. Unfortunately, I do feel once you ate a few you could really taste a chemically sort of taste which isn’t so good. But they do make a nice snack!

shit you didn't know was vegan (spanish edition)

Ingredients: Oats flakes 34%, whole wheat flour 22%, dark chocolate chips 15% (sugar, cocoa paste, dextrose, cocoa butter, emulsifier: soya lecithin, flavours), vegetable oil (high oleic sunflower oil) 14,5%, sugar, glucose and fructose syrup, raising agents (sodium and ammonium bicarbonates), salt.

Okay, that is all the products that I have found and enjoyed whilst being in Spain. Dark chocolate and crisps are another thing that I have been enjoying but that feels like a given.

Thank you for reading and I will see you in my next blog post on Sunday. This is scheduled as we are currently travelling from North to South Spain. In the meantime check out my blog post for a doughnut recipe– I have been making these a lot recently and they taste so good.

Leave a Reply

