Top Five Books!

Top Five Books!

I have been wanting to do this blog post for a while but my top five books never came above my top four. (And it is still just a top four really). However, I have been reading a bit more since travelling, although less than I thought I would and I wanted to share with the world some of the books that I believe are worth your time.

After writing this blog post I realised how hard I find it to write about books. I hate reading plot synopsis/blurb/summary of a book I want to read because it does ruin the book. You can’t read a book whilst knowing part of the story, I feel like it ruins the immersion. I’ve tried my best to explain as much as possible without ruining any of the books but if you want to know more about them, leave a comment below!

I will go from the lesser favourites ending on my most favourite, starting with…

#5 The Picture of Dorian Grey by Oscar Wilde

Top Five Books!

I have only ever read this book once and I only ever plan to read it once. It’s the sort of book that can only be enjoyed with the first read. I loved this book but I haven’t read it in over three years so I sometimes wonder if I look at it through rose coloured glasses. I do remember the middle of the book being really tricky to read and even skipping some chapters. But I always struggle to read older books, in fact this is the only classic book I have read and I would classify myself as a bookworm. Classic books just really suck. Anyway, this is a great story and it is about a man who wishes to never age and how he deals with the situation of aging.

#4 My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologies by Fredrick Backman

Top Five Books!

So this is the spot that I can never fill in my top five books. I love so many books that it is hard enough to categorise them into top fives. However, there is never a book good enough for the number four spot. Currently, it is this book. It is a great story and I loved it so much. It is about a young girls love for her Grandmother and it a lovely story that also has an element of mystery. The book is written from the young girls perspective which makes it an interesting read and the author does a great job of writing in a way that doesn’t distract from the story.

#3 Looking for Alaska by John Green

Top Five Books!

Everyone knows this author and probably this book. He was a huge success around three years ago and I read most of his books. I was the perfect age when they came out to enjoy them. But I still love this book. The story is about a boy who goes to boarding school and the friends that he does/does not make. It’s a lovely story and the greatest thing is the mystery and the main characters inability to solve it. I love the characters in this book, they are incredibly believable and you fall in love with all of them.

#2 Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Top Five Books!

This book is a strange one and I don’t want to ruin any of it so I’m not going to say what it is about. Just buy the book, don’t even read the blurb. It is the kind of book you want to read without knowing anything about it. The story is brilliant and heartbreaking and it really opens your mind to ideas and situations you probably haven’t thought about before.

#1 The Storyteller by Antonia Michaelis

Top Five Books!

I love this book and one day I want to write the script for this film. Everything about this book is amazing, the story line is layers deep. To summarise, it is a love story about a girl and a boy but it touches on so many angles that you just wouldn’t expect whilst reading it. The boy is the storyteller and there are two stories simultaneously going on. One of them is make believe and one of them is real. It is a heartbreaking story but also one of the best stories that I have read. Everyone needs to read this book. Go buy it. Now.

After writing this I have realised how most of these books are pretty sad and/or shocking. But they are all such magical stories that I wish I could just read over and over again. If you have read any of these books let me know what you thought of them, otherwise let me know what your top five books are. I hope you enjoyed this blog post, it is scheduled as I am currently on a very long walk in Australia. My last blog post was a TMI talk on menstrual cups and you can check that out until my next post on Sunday.

One thought on “Top Five Books!

Leave a Reply

