Australia Diaries: Jewel Cave

Last week, I decided that once a week me and my boyfriend should do something touristy and fun. We do a lot of work and chilling but sometimes I feel like we miss out on doing actual travel things by just getting caught up in it all.

This week we went to Jewel Cave. This is in a town called Augusta which is a beautiful harbor town.

Australia Diaries: Jewel Cave

We sporadically decided to go check out this cave as we actually live near Caves Road which, funnily enough, has a lot of caves on it. Adam chose this one because it was the biggest but I had no idea what to expect. I’d never been to a cave before.

We arrived and paid $20 each which was really reasonably priced, in fact we arrived with two minutes until the last tour, so I felt like it was just meant to be!

We walked down a long set of stairs into the cave and as you walk in there is an incredible view.

Australia Diaries: Jewel Cave

I’ll add a collection of pictures as there isn’t really much I can say other than it was really, really amazing. I also learnt about stalagmites (is made from the ground up) and stalactites (hangs from the ceiling). He told me a lot more but honestly, I suck at retaining information so here are some unexplained pictures.

Australia Diaries: Jewel CaveAustralia Diaries: Jewel Cave

Australia Diaries: Jewel Cave

If you you ever find yourself in Western Australia take your time to go to one of the amazing caves that are on Caves Road. I was blown away by the beauty and I would go again in a heart beat.
I hope enjoyed the first of my many Australia diaries series. Hopefully, I’ll be publishing one around once a week but when we begin our road trip in a few months I promise to have many exciting posts about things we get up to. In the mean time you can check out my last two blog posts, one was about what I got up to for my 22nd birthday and the other was how you can help reduce your plastic waste! 

Let’s connect, you can follow me on instagram or add my on snapchat at: grace_lloyd1

Leave a Reply

