Setting Daily Goals

Recently I have been getting my life together. I mean my life is pretty great. I get to travel and experience so much, so that aspect is amazing. But I tend to put my health behind me. I’ve always (well, for the past two years) had the excuse that I’m vegan. So even when I am unhealthy, I’m not THAT unhealthy. And sometimes my mental health slips and I can feel myself losing balance. Until recently. I have been trying to do everything that I want to do. I’ve started to set myself daily goals. Every day I have a list of things that I want to achieve. I love lists and I love accomplishing things so this works well for me. I also love the idea of setting daily goals, it makes me try and strive for success.

If you are looking to make some self improvement I would recommend sitting down and thinking what you feel like you are missing from life. What makes you tick? How are you feeling? Why?

These daily goals I set a few days ago, so I haven’t been doing them for very long. However, I am putting them up here to keep myself in check, I am pledging to the internet that I WILL keep up with these goals. Here is my list of daily goals., and why I decided to set them.

Yoga

20161226_180355_Richtone(HDR)

Anyone that knows me knows that I love yoga. Back in January/when I lived in a house I did yoga every single day and I loved it. It really helped me make a connection between my mind and body. Since then I have tried to fit it in when I can and I know this is something that I will always try and fit into my life. Recently, I have been trying to make yoga more of a workout. Doing days focusing on abs, legs and arms. The other days I just do a general sequence and try and perfect some poses. The best thing abut yoga is that you can make it what you want. If you are beginning I would highly recommend a thirty day challenge and I love these 1, 2, 3. Most the time i do a self led practice but occasionally I will pull up a video if I need inspiration.

My life without yoga just doesn’t work for me. This might sound silly to some people. But yoga helps me monitor my body and my brain. I can feel how my body craves it. It helps control my mental state, whilst doing yoga I try and focus only on my breathing, almost like a mini meditation. I also pull these practices into my daily life, if I feel myself losing control I start to follow my breathing patterns.

I could not preach about yoga enough and really believe everyone should try and fit just a little into their day.

Exercise
Exercise? But yoga is exercise? Yes, yoga is exercise but here I am talking about cardio. To be specific I am actually talking about running. I have never been a big fan of cardio until recently. The past month we have been taking regular hikes, whether that is to check out waterfalls, national parks or just exploring the area. There was one day when I was i shreds. I honestly thought I would never make it back. And that got my attention. I’m 22, I feel like I should be at my peak. Not at my weakest. I also spoke to my Uncle (shout out) who said he could run 3/4 miles) and again I was like ?? he is double my age and can out run me. Nope. I decided I needed to get myself together. I need to be fit and healthy and able to push myself when I need to.

I downloaded an App called ‘Running’ and it tracks your time, distance and gives you your average pace. I love using an app because it is really motivating to see how far you have improved and how far you have ran. Running is a whole new world for me and I know I can’t do it everyday but I am aiming to do it 5 days a week.

Screenshot_2017-05-03-15-27-42

If running isn’t your thing you could think of other cardio you prefer. I don’t use the gym but if you do there is far more choice there on what cardio to do.

Meditation
I wrote a blog post about meditation a few months ago saying how much I was enjoying it and I WAS. However, I stopped enjoying the app that I was using and I do enjoy having guided meditations. I recently found a new app called Stop, Breathe and Think which is great. The only downside is that you do need to have internet. I love that you fill out how you feel and then it gives you a meditation based on that.

Screenshot_2017-05-03-16-09-46Screenshot_2017-05-03-16-09-48Screenshot_2017-05-03-16-09-53Screenshot_2017-05-03-16-09-55

 

I always recommend starting meditating by doing five minutes a day, especially if it is something you struggle with. Then add a little bit of time on the longer and more comfortable you get with doing it.

Writing & Reading

20170503_162227-1

I love to read and write. But these are the two things that I always end up putting on the back burner and never do. So I want to make it my daily goal to read and write, even if it is only a little bit. Doing these things also provides me with a break from life, because you get to zone out of the world surrounding you. I did loads of reading in March and managed to do a post of my monthly wrap up, however, in April I didn’t even finish one book, so that was a bit disappointing.

Eating 3 pieces of fruit

2017-05-03 04.23.39 1-1

Basic, but something I have started and love doing. Eating three pieces of different food. I currently love having an apple, banana and orange. Basic and tasty and super nutritious. I eat so much vegetables that I never stop to think about fruit. So, yes. Here is to eating more fruit!

Stay off social media after 6pm
I will admit it, I spent far too much time on social media. I love it all. Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter and I am always checking it. I want to be less obsessed. To make this happen, I am making a rule to not allow myself any social media after 6pm. I will make allowances for family messages on Whatsapp but other than that I’m out. I know this one is going to be hard for me but it’s may just be the best. 

Spend 15 minutes a day learning Spanish 

I keep saying I am going to learn a language but never actually have. So here is me pledging to do that. I chose Spanish as it is a more universal language with it being spoken isn’t South America. I downloaded an App called Duo lingo and have so far done one day. I am really hoping this is something I stick on with and make the effort to learn a new language!

And those are my current daily goals, so far I have been keeping to them. Especially because I am very motivated to stay on track. If you are looking to make some changes, I would highly recommend daily goals because they narrow your focus. If you are aiming to do them everyday you tend to think about it everyday. It’s also good to remember how much time you have on your hands- don’t force in more than you can managed.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post and it helped to motivate you in your new goals! My previous blog post was about the super popular TV show 13 reasons why and my minimal skincare routine. I am currently living just on the outskirts of Melbourne and will have a blog post coming up soon about my weekend in the city.

stay kind  

Let’s connect! You can find me on Instagram or add me on snapchat ‘grace_lloyd1’

Leave a Reply

