Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

I have been posting a lot of travel posts recently and although I love writing them I miss posting (and making) tasty recipes. I made this cake a while back and it is delicious, vegan and chocolate. Which are probably three of my favourite things.

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe OR Raw Chocolate Pudding

Actually, Adam made this cake for me first for my birthday. I then made it twice afterwards to use up the ingredients (okay, that’s an excuse. it was also so I could eat cake).
I used THIS recipe as a base but I actually didn’t have any weighing scales so I had to guess which meant that every cake turned out differently. I also swapped out a few things and made some changes just because I have my personal preferences.
Something I did notice was that the cake mixture made an amazing chocolate pudding, so if you want to skip the baking and eat it ‘raw’ I would highly recommend. Although far from healthy, both these ways of making yourself a sweet dessert are tasty and easy.

So, let’s get into it.

Ingredients

  • 300g butter
  • 300g flour
  • 300g sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 200g yoghurt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 70g cocoa powder
  • 6 tablespoons milk

FOR THE ICING

  • 200g icing sugar
  • 4 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 100g butter
  • 2 tablespoons yoghurt

Recipe

Preheat the oven to a good cake temperature, approx 180 degrees C I would say. Mix the sugar and butter together until they form a a buttery, fluffy paste. Then add the yoghurt, vanilla extract and the milk.

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

Add the flour, cocoa powder and baking powder. Mix together until fully combined

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

If you want eat the mixture at this point it may be hard to stop. It is ridiculously tasty and I do think that is down to the vanilla yoghurt.

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes and then take out to cool. Whilst they are cooling you can make the icing, which is so tasty I struggled to not eat it before putting it on the cake.

The icing is pretty straightforward, just mix the above icing ingredients together and put on your cake. I made mine in to two sandwich tins so put some icing in the middle. This icing is tasty, so good luck trying to resist eating it.

Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

There you have it. Your own mud pie. This cake tastes amazing with a side of vanilla ice cream and I highly recommend heating it up in the microwave beforehand so that it is soft and you get that melty ice cream, lord, I am making myself want this cake so bad.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and give this cake recipe a try. It is probably one of my favourite vegan recipes as it doesn’t require any obvious egg substitute such as flaxseed or apple sauce. It also doesn’t have that ‘vegan’ taste because, I am sure we can all admit sometimes vegan food is not always the greatest. However, this cake it. My previous blog post was an Australian Diaries about our road trip to Adelaide.

stay kind 

Let’s connect! You can find me on Instagram or add me on snapchat ‘grace_lloyd1’


2 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

